What Does It Mean to Be Rich in Faith?

Posted: August 28, 2014 in Art, Books, Christianity, Education, Encouragement, Faith, Family, History, Hope, Inspiration, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Photography, Politics, Quotes, Success, Travel

‘Listen, my dear brothers and sisters: Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love him?’

– James 2:5 NIV

Since deciding to begin the process of writing my next manuscript I have definitely encountered grace to aid me in learning about the subject of God & money. Through scripture reading, meditation, testimonies, personal experiences, I definitely have encountered a process of enlightenment opening my eyes to understand the subject better to allow me to write with clarity of thought and purpose.

When you read James 2:5 does it suggest that God does not want His children to be rich?

What does it mean to be ‘poor in the eyes of the world?’

One thing I am learning, currently, faith in God allows me to access and ‘take possession’ of what God promises according to His word. He owns a cattle on a thousand hills and the earth is the LORD’s, the fullness thereof, and all who dwell in it.

Wherever I am lacking God promises to cause His grace to abound towards me. 

To be ‘rich in faith’ starts with not being limited in my thinking about what is accessible to me to experience the fullness of life Christ came for me to have! Beyond giving me what I don’t deserve, can I expand my understanding of grace to the understanding that He exceeds my limitations and extends me beyond myself to accomplish something greater, better, new?

Where I may not have the money, or resources, God can supply and provide people and arrange for me to access what I do not have, or possess those things despite my limitations! The principle of ask, seek, and knock!

Get excited about what it means to be ‘rich in faith’ and allow God to expand your mind to allow Him to do exceeding, abundantly above all you could ask or think! Not in terms of blessing you with a windfall of money, but enabling you to advance, achieve, and succeed because of the riches of His glory!

May God bless you and help you to grow in His grace to experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have!

Leave a comment