“Answer me when I call to you, O my righteous God. Give me relief from my distress; be merciful to me and hear my prayer.” 

– Psalm 4:1

There is a passage of scripture found in the bible that states that when Jesus looked upon the multitude of people He saw them as helpless and harassed and had compassion on them. In the Old Testament book of 1st Samuel there are a group of people being described as distressed, in debt and discontent. What this does for me when I read and reflect upon this sincerely is fill me with peace, comfort and encouragement. It reinforces to me that God sees me in my circumstances and understands how I am feeling and how I’m being impacted by them. And it also reassures me that God is moved with compassion towards me because of what I am going through.

I believe this, because in the book of Exodus He told Moses to tell His people that He sees them in their circumstances in slavery in Egypt, He has heard them, He is concerned about them and He will come to them and deliver them and bless them when He brings them out! When I take the time to sincerely reflect back upon my life and recall the many times I’ve felt helpless and harassed by life’s circumstances I am filled with awe, gratitude and thanksgiving for God’s deeds towards me that fulfilled His promise to be with me, help me and bless me.

“I have indeed seen the misery of my people in Egypt. I have heard them crying out because of their slave drivers, and I am concerned about their suffering.” – Exodus 3:7a From His look of compassion towards us God sent His Son Jesus Christ into the world to save the helpless and harassed and to anyone who believed in His Son, He gave them salvation and the gift of eternal life. Now everyday for the believer in Christ is an opportunity to experience the fulfillment of God’s salvation, through faith in Christ, to save them from the reality of the external troubles and the internal misery of suffering Jesus said we would encounter in this world.

May God strengthen you to relinquish to Him what burdens your soul and torments you to experience the rest, release and relief He promises to give to everyone who comes to Him.

Leave a Reply

