“As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you.” – Joshua 1:5

When you hear, ‘God is the same yesterday, today and forever. He never changes,’ what comes to your mind? My understanding of this from the perspective of scripture provides me reassuarnce and helps me to grow in assurance and confidence God will do for me what He has done for others, including those whose lives are illustrated before me in scripture. Meaning, do you believe what God said to Joshua applies to you? God used the illustration of His faith relationship with Moses, whom Joshua served under as a military leader, to reinforce to Joshua the need to be confident in Him as God to do for Joshua what He did for Moses.

This same principle was also illustrated in the life of Joseph in the book of Genesis. The bible indicates that while Joseph suffered the injustice of being sold into slavery, betrayed by his brothers, and thrown into prison unjustly because of false accusations, the LORD was with Joseph. In fact, it was indicated in scripture that Joseph was successful in everything he did during that time period because the LORD was with Him. God promised that same success to Joshua in the first chapter of the book of Joshua (see Joshua 1:8). Despite any misfortune, injustice or loss you may have encountered, even as a Christian, do you believe the LORD is with you and will give you success?

I believe success is inevitable for those who seek the LORD. I also believe success is relative, so one man’s success does not diminish the measure of success another man has accomplished. Faith in Christ is teaching me to consider the actions I must take daily to position myself to progress towards success that allows me to experience happiness rather  than waiting for something to happen that only leaves me feeling disappointed, discouraged and unhappy more often longer. ‘Therefore, because the LORD is with me as He was with Moses and Joshua I will…. ‘ What will you allow yourself to begin to believe and take action to see God help you experience true success and happiness in because He is with you?

May God help you and bless you as you take action to progress towards success and happiness in being engaged with Him in faith and life.

Leave a Reply

