“The LORD said to Abram, ‘I will make you into a great nation and I will bless you; I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all the peoples on earth will be blessed through you.'” – Genesis 12:1a, 2-3

Question. Is what God said to Abraham in Genesis 12 meant for you and I too? According to the bible it is, if you believe. “If you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise.” – Galatians 3:29 Faith in Jesus Christ affords me a great privilege to be part of a great proclamation of blessing God promised would be inherited by anyone and all who believe in God’s word as Abraham did when God spoke the blessing of promise to him so many centuries ago. 19 years into my faith walk with Christ, I am in awe, humbled and my soul rejoices in watching how God has been generous towards me to confer the blessing and promise of Abraham to me. As I recall and reflect upon moments in my life where I can see the providential hand of God bestow upon me favor, grace and mercy to keep me going, help me to live and be victorious my soul rejoices!

God seeks to speak His blessings and promises into the hearts and souls of everyone whose heart is open to believe Him and receive His Son Jesus Christ. He wants to bless us to be a blessing to others and make this world a better place. I have discovered embracing the promise of Genesis 12 to Abraham strengthens my assurance and confidence in God to fulfill His promises and performs what He speaks in  His word and enables me to experience the closeness of His presence intimately as one He loves. How great is the knowledge of God wanting to reciprocate in the life of every believer the promise conferred upon Abraham to spread His message of love and empowerment  from one generation to another! Reflection upon God’s promise to Abraham causes me to consider the time period of the Civil Rights Movement and the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. A movement spawned by faith that changed a nation and impacted the world.

Each of us has been invited by God to be used by Him to affect change and isnpire others. God told Joshua He would give him every place he set his foot if he obeyed God’s commands and remained strong and courageous. Where has God placed you and in what environments has He set you over He would like to use you to make it a better place? Let God work His love, joy and peace in you and through you in your family, at work, with colleagues and friends and even amongst your enemies and watch the promise of Abraham be fulfilled, as you believe, to be blessed, bless others and make the environment around you a better place. I believe this is what will make our name great in the eyes of God and amongst others!

May God strengthen you to act upon what He speaks in your heart to receive His blessings, bless others and make the world around you a better place.

Leave a Reply

