“Answer me when I call to you, O my righteous God. Give me relief from my distress; be merciful to me and hear my prayer.”

– Psalm 4:1 NIV

As my mom and I reflect upon the Psalms, now up to Psalm 6, I see a pattern of boldness in David’s prayers in the way he speaks with God. That boldness suggests to me that David does not speak timidly with uncertainty, as if God does not hear him, or God is disinterested as David speaks with Him in prayer. David’s boldness tells me that he expects God to hear him and respond. David’s example reinforces what the bible teaches about coming before the throne of grace with confidence. This same boldness is then displayed in David’s life when he faces challenges like Goliath. This tells me that my boldness in prayer with God will result in a bold faith when I face life’s troubles and circumstances. So as my mind reflects upon God telling Joshua to be strong and courageous, that suggests to me God was saying, ‘Joshua be bold in your faith. Your bold faith will allow you to take possession of every place you set your foot.’

“For surely, O LORD, you bless the righteous; you surround them with your favor as with a shield.” – Psalm 5:12 NIV Do I currently see God as the One who is shielding me with favor surrounding me with His love? I believe David’s boldness is connected directly to how he sees God that also plays out in his life. David sees God as one to approach with confidence believing God is accessible and responsive to his concerns. David also believes God cares about him, because David expresses specific intimate emotions that he expects God to address along with his external conflicts. When I approach God, what am I thinking about with regard to who He is and His response to my petition? This is why the book of Hebrews teaches that it is impossible to please God without faith, because the one who approaches Him in prayer must believe that He is God and He will reward the one who diligently seeks Him. God rewards boldness attributed to who He is and what He will do in accordance with His will for those who believe.

David’s pattern of prayer illustrated in the Psalms challenges me to embrace the same boldness so I can experience the same measure of intimacy and empowerment in my faith walk with God as he did. As you investigate the life of David in the scriptures you can see how boldness was a consistent part of how he lived life and the Psalms gives us an intimate look into why it was that way for David. If God challenged Joshua to be strong and courageous, which in essence was saying be bold, does God expect the same from me? If so, can I share the same consistency of boldness with life’s challenges as David did? Wisdom would reply, there is only one way to know for sure.

May God empower you to speak with boldness in prayer to encounter boldness in your faith walk to live victoriously and be successful.

Leave a Reply

