“Away from me, all you who do evil, for the LORD has heard my weeping.” – Psalm 6:8 NIV

Recent reflection upon the Psalms (particularly Psalms 4-6) has been a tremendous source of inspiration that has motivated me throughout this week and helped me to remain focused and positive minded in how I approached each day. The last 2 posts, including this one, was inspired from what was learned from reviewing Psalm 6. Reflecting upon David’s boldness in how he prayed and the outcome of that boldness in how he lived his life and viewed his faith relationship with God fueled me and gave me strength, comfort and encouragement. It also brought back to my remembrance a familiar passage of scripture I’ve enjoyed reflecting upon and affirms the theme of boldness and expectancy mentioned in these recent posts.

In 2 Chronicles 20 there is a great story about the value of expectancy, boldness and assertive faith that has always energized me when I relfect back on it, especially when my mind begins to wander down the road of insecurity in the direction of doubt and unbelief. King Jehoshaphat is faced with overwhelming odds and the imminent threat of calamity moves him to seek the LORD through prayer. What I enjoy about this passage in 2 Chronicles 20 is the manner in how he approached God with his concern and the specific thing he said that has always stuck with me since I first read and reflected upon this chapter.”If calamity comes upon us, whether the sword of judgment, or plague, or famine, we will stand in your presence before this temple that bears your Name and will cry out to you in our distress, and you will hear us and save us.” – 2 Chronicles 20:9 NIV In essence, what I hear Jehoshaphat saying is, ‘LORD no matter what the reason is that has brought about our current state of affairs as a nation. I believe when we look to you sincerely, believing you as God for our protection and preservation, You will listen to us and help us in our time of need.’ You can’t get more bold and assertive than that!

God’s reply, “This is what the LORD says to you, ‘Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s. You will not have to fight this battle. Take up your positions; stand firm and see the deliverance the LORD will give you, O Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Go out to face them tomorrow, and the LORD will be with you.'” – 2 Chronicles 20:15, 17 NIV Boldness produces an assertive faith that fuels us with inspiration and motivation to face our challenges chin to chin believing God will determine the outcome in our favor, because that’s what He promises to those who believe. Assurance and confidence in God to defend us and deliver us will prompt us to go in the direction of adversity and calamity, as David approached Goliath, confident we will overcome because our bold, assertive faith in God says we will.

Leave a Reply

