“So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.” – Hebrews 10:35-36 NIV

Since 2004 I have been engaged with journaling as a part of my daily routine of reading and reflecting upon the scriptures. Within the last calendar year I have discovered one of the benefits of journaling is helping me to identify quicker and with better accuracy how I feel and why I feel the way I do. Another benefit of journaling is the consistent timely words I have received from reading and reflecting upon the scriptures that reinforces my faith and affirms me in God’s sight as one He loves, cares for and is concerned about. A third benefit is discovering passages of scripture that illuminates within me and reinforces a specific word from God he speaks to my soul to help me focus my faith and capture what He intends for me to receive by following what He revelas to me in His word.

My recent posts about expectancy, boldness and assertive faith are one such occasion. I was reminded of Hebrews 10 and the principle of confidence mentioned that reinforces what I write often in my journal thanking God for helping me grow in my assurance and confidence in Him as God and in what He promises to do for me as I believe and trust Him as God. Since the summer of 2011 I have probably mentioned or reflected on the subject of assurance and confidence more than at any other point in my faith walk that I can recall. That is why, I know, my recent reflections about David’s boldness inspired me and gave me great motivation throughout the duration of this week, because the Spirit of the Living God resides within me and I believe He gets excited when we read, reflect upon and seek to apply the principles of scripture. I believe this, because it is my belief God wants us to live by His word and when He senses we are striving to follow His will and obey His commands He begins to fill us with His power to propel us forward to make progress in walking by faith! Consider what the Apostle Paul said. “To this end I labor, struggling with all his energy, which so powerfully works in me.” Colossians 1:29 NIV I rejoice, because as I began to reflect upon how I was feeling on the inside as the week progressed after the bible study, this verse came to my mind!

“In him and through faith in him we may approach God with freedom and confidence.” – Ephesians 3:12 NIV Great and awesome is His name and marvelous are His works and deeds! God invites to come before Him with confidence believing His love for us is greater than anything we face or anyone we are struggling with. He wants to fill us with the enrgy of His Spirit to help us walk by faith and fight the good fight of faith. He says to us to come to Him with confidence understanding it is His desire that we come to know and rely on the love He has for us in Christ Jesus. Expectancy, assurance and confidence are a direct result of believing God is who he says He is and learning to trust Him that He will do what He says he will do!

May God fill you with His energy to empower you as you believe and fulfill His promises to stregthen you in faith, assurance and confidence in Him as God and His promises.

Leave a Reply

