“As the time approached for him to be taken up to heaven, Jesus resolutely set out for Jerusalem.” – Luke 9:51 NIV

During a period in my faith walk within the last3 years this passage of scripture from Luke’s gospel became a great source of inspiration that helped me grow in my assurance and confidence in God to be God and rely on Him as God to help me and bless me. It was during this personal transition in my faith walk with Christ I could see the circumstances of life shifting in a way that I did not prefer, but it was verses such as this one regarding Jesus’ resolve to adhere to the will of His Father, regardless of the ensuing outcome of suffering, that inspired me to keep the faith and learn how to fight with faith against the reality of misfortune, loss and injustice I would face ahead of me.

This verse ministers to me the quiet strength Jesus embodied being also fully man as He humbled Himself and surrendered His life and will to His Father’s plan of redemption for theĀ salvation of mankind. Luke’s depiction of Jesus in this manner reinforces to me the necessity of boldness required if we desire to live victoriously and seek to overcome and prevail against the troubles of life Jesus said we would have. I am also greatly moved and inspired by this verse, because it reinforces to me the understanding of having the Spirit of Christ living on the inside of me to give me the needed strength to help me face whatever comes against me, because the bible teaches us that the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. When I journaled I documented it as internal resolve and spiritual fortitude. This is why the Apostle Paul could declare with boldness, “I can do everything through him who gives me strength.” – Philippians 4:13 NIV

This verse expresses to me Jesus’ conscious decision to follow the will of His Father no matter what the circumstances. It speaks to me about being determined, intentional and deliberate about following through with what is required of me to live and honor the One who gave me life. I am also reminded of the intimate love Jesus had for the Father that fueled His passion to execute God’s plan of salvation, even with His life. “My food,” said Jesus, “Is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.” – John 4:34 NIV Have you encountered the quiet strength of the Holy Spirit to help you in times of weakness? Have you felt the resolute boldness of Christ internally driving you with passion to follow the will of the Father? Do you know the intimate love of God that feeds you with an eternal supply of spiritual sustinence to keep you living, believing, hoping and loving? The scriptures invite us to examine the life of Jesus Christ and faith compels us to embrace His testimony of God’s love so we can come to know and rely on the love He has for us in Christ Jesus to live with resolute boldness in the face of misforutne, loss and injustice.

Leave a Reply

