GLORY REVEALED

Posted: March 7, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“And the LORD said, ‘I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the LORD, in your presence. When my glory passes by by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back.'”

– Exodus 33:19a, 22-23a

As I’ve continued to read and reflect upon the scriptures I have discovered that it is God’s desire and intention to reveal Himself to those who sincerely seek Him. The intimate portrayal of Moses and His faith relationship with God is a relationship God desires with all who seek after Him. I have also learned through observing Moses life in scripture that falling short of entering the promised land did not diminish the full life of faith Moses encountered as he walked with God, because his faith walk liberated many from slavery. I may not encounter great material abundance or accumulate great financial wealth in my lifetime, but even Jesus said in Luke’s gospel that a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions. In fact, Jesus also declared in Matthew’s gospel that among men no one was greater than John the Baptist, who lived in a desert during his adult life and he did not perform great feats as others mentioned in scripture did.

In response to Moses’ request, God said simply I will cause my goodness to pass before you and proclaim my name in your presence. God mentioned mercy and compassion and then he placed Moses in a safe place and allowed Him to see a glimpse of Himself as he passed by. Boldly Moses petitioned God to reveal Himself and God complied. Through the theme of boldness, is it possible God is challenging us to expect more from life by positioning ourselves in a posture of humility before Him so He can respond to us? Can it be, that by only thinking of money and material gain as God’s means of blessing me I am limiting God in how He operates in my life?

By May 2010 my car was repossessed and I spent the whole summer without transporation. During most of the upcoming school year I received a ride from a colleague to and from work and support from other’s with my second job. By December 2010 I received a car (from a friend for $600.00) that was declared totaled, but it got me back and forth to work. I needed $1, 500.00 in order to get a newused car. I ended up in a car accident hit from behind, missing a telephone pole by grace, but the insurance claim allowed me to secure the car I have now!  In 2011, I was facing the threat of eviction twice with no money in the bank and both times God made a way for me when I had no way of helping myself. My mother borrowed money to help me in one of the two situations, but when she tried to borrow the money for herself it was not approved! I told my mother to not try to explain it or understand how or why. It would lessen the glory of what God just did to make Himself known in my circumstances.

May God reveal Himself, manifest and make Himself known to you as you seek Him through prayer in a way that will fortify your faith as you walk with Him.

Leave a Reply

