NEW ENCOUNTER

Posted: March 8, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.”

– Isaiah 43:18-19 NIV

One chapter over from Isaiah 42, we see God now declaring to forget the past and see what I am doing now! God is emphatically declaring that what was is no longer what my focus needs to be. ‘Do you see what I am doing now?’ says God. The fact that God says see implies to me the expectation from Him that I learn to see Him at work in my life. God expects me to take notice of Him and the evidence of His presence, person and power working in, through and around me to help me encounter life and the fullness of it that Christ came for me to have! The declaration is emphasized with an exclamation point in scripture that should awaken me to embracing, expecting and believing that what God is saying is happening, not will happen. The first thing God declared to Moses after Moses soght God’s glory was that He would cause all His goodness to pass before him. As I learn to look with spiritual eyes, I will begin to see the evidence of God working on my behalf to help me experince Him in a new way than I’ve known Him previously that will fortify my faith and help me learn more about Him according to His word.

Jesus said in John’s gospel that His Father is always at work. Do I see the manifest presence of God at work around me? Can I sense the internal initmate work of His Holy Spirit helping me in my weakness? Does His word resonate within me to prompt me to take hold of it to encounter the fullfillment of His principles and promises? What is happening around me that is prompting me to pray? Do I see the unseen message of God behind the challenges that is reminding me of His presence with me to lead, guide and direct me? Am I learning to apply His word to my circumstances so I am assured and confident He is working it together for good on my behalf? Have I allowed the misfotune, loss and injustices of life to suppress His voice and His word that causes me to resign to fear and cycinism, doubt and unbelief?

No matter where you are in your faith walk, even if you are caught in sin, remember the parable of the prodigal son. The son thought that life was about material prosperity and being independent and going your own way, doing your own thing, living life as I please. In the end, it was the awakening to the reality of what he had with his relationship to his father that mattered more. God is saying to you He wants to give you a new awakening that will allow you to experience a new encounter with Him to bring you to the fullness Christ came for you have. Do you believe this? if so, then as He told Martha you will see the glory of God in your life as she and Moses did.

May God help you and bless you to experience the new encounter that will help you grow and move in your faith walk with Him to experience the fullness of life Christ came for you to have.

Leave a Reply

