NEW CREATION

Posted: March 10, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”

– 2 Corinthians 5:17 NIV

My ability to step through into the new awakening and new encounter God proclaims for me to experience with Him begins with the proclamation of becoming a new creation in Christ. No matter what state I was in at the time I began to deliberate the need for salvation through faith in Christ, at the moment of my decision to receive Christ acknowledging Him as my LORD and Savior, I became a new creation in Christ. Faith in Christ redeems me from a past lifestyle of sin and frees me from the eternal consequence of sin being eternally separated from God in hell. Faith in Christ also severs me from the cyclical dysfunction of habitual behaviors and attitudes that keep me bound to my past life. Faith in Christ provides for me a new outlook, new disposition and new purpose that propels me forward from circumstances of the past that seek to torment me and taunt me from believing in hope’s promise for the better day and brighter tomorrow. The new creation is about a spiritual transformation that leads me to experience the transition of the new awakening of who I am in Christ and new encounter with God, by faith through His word, and the redemptive regenerative work of His Holy Spirit at work within me.

A successful transition and continuous encounter with God, through faith, can only come by the new creation’s sincere deliberate exposure to the word of God through reading, meditation, declaration and application. The book of Romans teaches that faith comes by hearing the preached word of God (Romans 10:17). The book of James admonishes to not only read God’s word, but to put it into practice (James 1:21-25). Psalm 1 says that the man who delights in God’s law and meditates on it will prosper in all he does. In the gospel of John 14, Jesus taught His disciples that His word should abide in them, or dwell in them, and they (His disciples) should abide in Him and by doing so they would be productive, or bear much fruit. It is therefore understood that God not only intends for me to become new, through faith in Christ, but to experience Him in new and intimate ways that fortify my faith and help me to become effective and productive in my knowledge of Christ. “For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.” – 2 Peter 1:8 NIV

If you look carefully at what is written in verse 8 of 2 Peter 1 you will notice that the qualities we possess, that should be added to our faith (i.e., goodness, knowledge, self-control, perseverance, godliness, brotherly kindness and love 1 Peter 1:5-7), should be increasing in measure to keep us from being ineffective and unproductive in Christ as His followers. Therefore, the new creation, new awakening or new encounter would not be a one time event, or experience, because the continuous ebb and flow of life with its ups and downs would require constant change on my part in order to maintain a position of victory and posture of sincere faith that keeps me close and connected to my Savior and my God.

May God help you and bless you in the process of becoming a new creation to help you progress into new awakenings in your knowledge of Him that helps you encounter Him more and experience the fullness of life Christ came for you to have.

Leave a Reply

