SEEKING PROPELS ME TO STEP THROUGH INTO

Posted: March 14, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.'”

– Jeremiah 29:11-13 NIV

This message of hope, comfort and encouragement spoken by the prophet Jeremiah to God’s people was sent to them while they were in a place of captivity due to rebellion and sin. God’s compassion for His people is expressed eloquently in this message of love and continues to reverberate hope’s passion within me every time I reflect upon it. The book of Romans (see Romans 5) teaches us that hope does not disappoint us because God has poured out His love to us by His Spirit. We have seen through the lives of people illustrated in the scripture of how hope fueled their faith and kept them in a posture of believing God despite what the condition of their current circumstances was saying to them. Deep within their souls, God was whispering with His still small voice, ‘Don’t give up hope! Believe and you will see my glory.’ Resonating deep within you and emanating outward is the person, presence and power of God stirring you with His energy to prompt you to draw near to Him in prayer and make the necessary spiritual connection that will leave you assured and confident in Him to help you, bless you and come through for you the way He promised.

Hannah, despite the anguish of her soul, the provoking of her rival that took place year after year and the reality of life whispering to her to give up hope, poured out her soul to God and He blessed her. Martha was not deterred from hope despite her brother’s condition going from sickness to death and by remaining hopeful she saw God’s glory as Moses did. God told Jeremiah to tell His people that He still had plans to bless them and give them a better life than the one they knew currently. In order to experience the promise of the hope He planned for them and the future of an expected end, they would have to seek Him. He promised them that if they sought after Him with all their heart they would find Him. Beyond what you hope for that Romans 8 says we have to wait patiently for, do I seek God with all my heart because He’s God or for what I can get from God?

A friend once told me that no time spent with God is wasted time. Jeremiah 29:11-13 is an invitation to experience the intimate relationship with God while you wait in anticipation of the fulfillment of His promises for the fullness of life Christ came for us to have. In fact if you read this passage carefully the way it reads to me is, ‘When you understand what I have planned for you and the goodness I desire to pass before you, then you will seek Me. You will come and pray to me and then you will see Me. When you seek me with all of your heart, I will make myself known to you.’ My seeking is prompted by the understanding of acceptance that Abraham modeled. What I seek for out of life through what God promises, I cannot get on my own. Understanding I cannot get on my own, what God promises, then I will seek Him and through seeking after Him He will bless me and allow me to experience the life Christ came for me to have. This is consistent with scripture, because it was Jesus who explained to His followers to seek God first, His kingdom and His righteousness, and He will then reward you.

May God bless you and help you as you seek Him and reward your faith by extending His favor to you through the fulfillment of His promises.

Leave a Reply

