FAITH INVESTMENT

Posted: March 17, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.”

– Matthew 13:44 NIV

What is the return of investing my faith in God? Is there a guarantee I will receive back a great yield in wealth and riches for the investment of my faith? Is there a risk associated with a faith investment as it would be with investing money? If so, how great is it? What will it cost me? When I observe the lives of those around me who have ‘placed’ their faith in Christ, do their lives inspire me to do the same? As one who has made the faith investment, do I talk like someone who is experiencing a good return, or someone who is dissatisfied?

Jesus tells the story about a man who made an investment of faith in a treasure hidden in the ground. He valued the treasure immensely, so much so, he invested his life worth in the purchase of the field that contained the treasure and had great joy! Not only was the treasure valuable to the man, but the field that housed the hidden treasure. How do I currently view the treasure of Jesus Christ? Is He more valuable to me than my life worth? What I knew to be life, would I give it up to invest myself in Him and be an open field for Him to build the life in and through me He came for me to have? If so, there is a fullness of joy, contentment, satisfaction and fulfillment for the sincere seeker whose willing to make the faith investment.

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your minds on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.” – Colossians 3:1-4 NIV

Notice this verse concludes that our lives are no longer ours when we ‘give’ our lives to Christ. Christ is our life. Christ becomes the motivation, inspiration and mission for how we seek to live according to this verse. In order to experience the full benefit, blessing and reward of the hidden treasure of the life lived by faith in Christ, I must elevate my thinking from a worldly point of view, to a heavenly, or biblical, one. To do this, I must invest myself in the reading, meditation and application of scripture. The more I do, the greater the return and the fullness of joy I gain. The man who bought the field exchanged his former life for the life he embraced in association with the treasure and the field. Our lives become an open field for God to build upon if we trust Him in what He is capable and able to accomplish with a yielded heart surrendered to His principles. When I think of this I think of the Civil Rights Movement led by the inspiration of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Consider the significance of the voice of one african-american man having such an impact at that time in history, along with the countless anonymous souls who invested their faith and lives to affect positive change within this nation. How much more could God affect change within me and around me to bless others and make the world around us a better place if, like the man in Jesus’ parable, we hide the treasure and buy the field.

From an earthly perspective the man who bought the field would be considered a fool, but from the perspective of heaven he would be considered wise. The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom. The kingdom of heaven is like the treasure in the field and God is looking to see how many of us will be like the man Jesus described in the parable. The only way I would know the certainty of my return on a faith investment is to take the risk. The man in the parable experienced great joy when he found his treasure. I pray you will too!

May God bless you and help you to discover the hidden treasure of faith in Jesus Christ and compel you to hide Him in your heart to encounter the full return of the fullness of life Christ came for us to experience.

Leave a Reply

