FAITH IS ACTION FUELED WITH HOPE

Posted: March 19, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

– Hebrews 11:1 NIV

In the book of James we learn that faith without works, or actions, is a dead faith. Which is to say there is no faith alive or present, because there are no actions that support the belief one has in the outcome of what they hope for. Recently I have learned through the current bible study my mother, sister and I participate in Excel in 2012 and Beyond that I need to take action with what I hope in God to do for me. Hoping for something without doing anything more often leaves me in a perpetual state of disappointment, feeling unfulfilled and discouraged. I am in a constant state of waiting for something to happen without any initiative invested to ensure it will come to pass. This sounds more like wishful thinking to me than hope described in the scripture.

Through this current bible study, I have also learned that if I take action consistently to do the little things (short-term goals) required of me to put myself in position to achieve long-term goals I will experience two things: 1) Longer periods of happiness feeling good about the progress being made with what I am seeking to achieve, 2) The immediate satisfaction and gratification of achieving short-term goals towards my desired accomplishment will fuel my motivation to continue to pray, seek God and do the necessary things to receive what I am hoping for! Believing itself is an action. I can choose to believe and have faith fueled by hope, or I can choose to not believe.

Faith is the substance and the evidence of what I hope for and cannot currently see. Faith ignites within me the assurance and confidence that what I hope for in God will come to pass. What is ignited within me begins to emanate from within and resonate throughout my being and makes me resolute in my conviction God will answer my prayers. This faith is supported by what God proclaims in His word about me and my circumstances and my relationship to Him that when I align what I hope for with His word and believe He is a rewarder of them that diligently seek Him, I become certain that what is unseen currently will come to pass. I will begin to declare to myself and others my assurance in Him who gives life to the dead and declares what is currently not what it ought to be.

The book of Romans (chapter 5) teaches us that hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out His love to us by His Spirit. Because He loves us, He will not allow our hope in Him to be disappointed. Life is filled with moments of disappointment, but through faith in God, He can take our disappointing moments and work them together for good in a way that will make up for the moments of disappointment we feel. Like the four men who carried the paralytic, we must not be deterred or dissuaded when the crowd of life’s circumstances tries to make us believe we cannot get to the One who holds the fulfillment of our faith in the palm of His hand. In Romans 4 the bible said that against all hope, in hope Abraham believed in what God promised and it strengthened him and kept him from weakening in his faith believing God had the power to do what He had promised! Abraham believed God, but then he had to leave his comfort zone towards the place God had promised to give him, his place of destiny. Faith in God will cause me to move being sure He will do what his word says to help me experience the fullness of life Christ came for me to have!

May God bless you and help you become fueled with hope to strengthen you in your faith to move towards the place of fulfillment and destiny God has purposed for you to receive in Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

