SICK WITH HOPE

Posted: March 24, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.”

– Proverbs 13:12 NIV

At an extremely low point in my life, I opened a book and began reading esteemed author and Pastor Max Lucado’s depiction of the woman with the issue of blood highlighted in Mark’s gospel with greater detail than in Matthew’s and Luke’s gospel. The day I read Max Lucado’s account I was stirred on the inside and I recall saying to myself, ‘If I were to write, this is how I would write!’ Max Lucado’s descriptive detail of how he helped me to envision the journey of the woman from her twelve-year affliction to her fateful encounter with Christ, fueled by her hope in God for wholeness and wellness, uplifted me and inspired me. I have been writing ever since!

In fact, the inspired words of Mark’s account of the person regarded as the ‘sick woman,’ inspires the reverberating thought I’ve had on the subject of hope since I have discovered this passage from Proverbs on the subject of hope. During a bible study with my mom and my sister, it was revealed in discussion about being disappointed by hope to which we were led to Romans 5. “Not only so, but we rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.” – Romans 5:3-5 NIV

Hope may be delayed, or deferred, but hope does not disappoint. Life has many moments of disappointments, but hope in God will never leave us unfulfilled, dissatisfied or discontent. God pours out His love into us by His Holy Spirit that reaffirms me that He is with me to help me, bless me and satisfy my desires with good things (Psalm 103). I like what Proverbs 13:12 says about hope, because it affirms me in my struggle anticipating, expecting and waiting patiently for God to honor His word to fulfill what He promises and perform what He speaks. Proverbs 13:12 is saying to me God understands the agonizing torment of the soul delayed from its expectancy of fulfillment. Even the bible suggests that one can get sick from hope. Sick with turmoil that comes with waiting, trusting, hoping and believing in God to do the impossible, perform the miraculous and fulfill His promises.

In her heart, the sick woman, filled with hope in God to restore her, was uplifted and inspired to make use of her remaining resources of faith and hope to invest them in Jesus Christ to accomplish what her material resources and access to professional resources could not provide her. God will allow us to come to the end of our ability to do it ourselves, to experience the depletion of resources, and lead us to a place where only He will be able to bring us out of. God will allow us to be in a context in life that positions us to encounter the miraculous work of His grace to fortify our faith and leave us with the opportunity to be a witness and share the testimony of His love and power with others!

So with compassion we may articulate the consolation of listening to a soul sick with hope and be a source of encouragement to them that though they may be sick with hope, their hope in God will not leave them disappointed!

May God bless you and help you to know and rely on His love to fortify your hope in Him, strengthen you, uplift you, inspire you and move you towards the better day and brighter tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

