SUCCESS IN LIFE REQUIRES FORCEFUL HANDS

Posted: March 26, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes

“Lazy hands make a man poor, but diligent hands bring wealth.”

– Proverbs 10:4 NIV

In Matthew’s gospel, Jesus stated that from the time of John the Baptist to the point of His being present with those who saw Him, the kingdom of God had been advancing forcefully and forceful men lay hold of it (Matthew 11:12). I’ve always understood this passage to mean that the person, power and presence of God is advancing, moving, progressing and affecting change and those who boldly seek to take hold of Him would receive Him and the benefits of taking hold of Him. The Apostle Paul explains it like this, “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of  that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.” – Philippians 3:12 NIV

Matthew 11:12 speaks to me about being passionate, persistent and deliberate and not passive. Something that advances forcefully is moving deliberately, aggressively with an intense movement. To take hold of a forceful advancement requires me to move with it in order to take hold of it and not just stretch out an arm, or hand to grab it. Both arms stretched out moving in the direction of the forceful advancement with the intent to take hold of it and progress with it. Advancing forcefully gives me the inclination of its intent to keep moving so I must progress with it.

The sick woman, being prompted by God because of her hope in Him, was being drawn by Him towards the advancing kingdom of Jesus Christ and His power to restore and make her whole. The four men who carried the paralytic were fueled by their hope to follow the influence of the continuous movement of God drawing them to Christ and the advancing kingdom of His power. Hope in God is an eternal fuel that galvanized the soul of the sincere seeker and moves them beyond themselves towards the advancing kingdom of Christ and the miraculous work of His Spirit.

Faith in God will cause me to move. Hope in God will cause me to press forward, push through and persevere beyond the reality of my current conditions towards the fullness of life Christ came for me to have. I don’t have to resign to sickness, debt, disappointment, discontentment, discouragement, unfulfillment, defeat, rejection, fear, or a life less than what Christ came for me to have! From the days of John the Baptist up to 2012 the kingdom of God advances forcefully and forceful men take hold of it. The sick woman and the four men who carried the paralytic were forceful in their determination to take hold of what had captured their hearts to believe in God for what they hoped for in Christ.

Diligent means careful and hardworking and is a principle I use often in communicating with my students of my expectation of how I desire them to go about completing their artwork. Forceful hands are diligent, persistent and deliberate. As the sick woman and the four men in Mark’s gospel, God desires for me to pursue Him forcefully with the intent, resolve and passion that will enable me to press through, push forward and empower me to persevere until my faith brings me to the fullness of life Christ came for me to have!

May God bless you and help you to take hold of His advancing kingdom to move you, propel you and draw you to Christ and the fullness of life He came for you to have.

Comments
  1. tomfrolund says:

    thanks for a good article I have the movie on Matthew’s gospel here, http://www.christianonnet.com/member/video/8bdd492152ed905a02cb390a79a5c4ab
    it is the old version, but I think it is good.
    continue to write and god bless you

    Like

    • myimmanuel says:

      Thank you for the video, comments and positive feedback!

      Your input and provision of the movie is greatly appreciated.

      I saw some of the movie of The Apostle Paul and Peter recently on TBN and enjoyed what I saw. Until the Passion of Christ, Jesus Christ of Nazareth and The Ten Commandments were two of my favorites to watch.

      God bless you!

      Like

      • tomfrolund says:

        glad you liked the website, the passion of christ is a little difficult to categorize when you are a webmaster, but I’ll have to show the movies as the members want to see
        then they can write about their opinions in the forum later.
        It is a website for all Christians who believe in jesus and the bible, but there are different opinions about many things, and sometimes must be careful not to interfere too much.

        Like

Leave a Reply

