OVERCOMING DREAD INFLUENCED BY DOUBT AND UNBELIEF

Posted: April 2, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“The path of life leads upward for the wise to keep him from going down to the grave.”

– Proverbs 15:24 NIV

One Sunday recently I shared a conversation with my sister expressing the feeling that my life was moving in an upward motion from where I had felt I was at one point in my faith walk with Christ. She expressed a mutual identity with what I was communicating feeling she was also heading in an upward ascent. Within a few days from having that dialogue, I came across this verse in Proverbs 15. In that moment of discovering this passage, I felt it was God confirming for me, what I felt and what I believed was happening during this season of walking with Him by faith. In that same chapter, Proverbs 15:23 states, “How good is a timely word!”

I often thank God in prayer, and when I journal, for every timely word He supplies and provides me to comfort, encourage and inspire me with hope to keep me progressing as I walk with Him by faith. During the course of the current bible study my sister, mother and I participate in, Excel in 2012 and Beyond, we have discussed the reality of the disappointment, discouragement and discontentment that comes from feeling dissatisfied. You could add dread to that list too. Understanding that feeling dissatisfied is a natural, normal feeling that comes with being human, we acknowledge the necessity of the principle of taking action, or demonstrating initiative, in order to overcome the moments when we feel dissatisfied. Remaining  passive with feelings/thoughts of dissatisfaction leads to dread, discontentment, discouragement, bitterness, anger and eventually, isolation from God. This is what happened to Cain in the book of Genesis (See Genesis 4).

After discovering Proverbs 15:24, I shared with my mom and my sister that we can oppose the feelings of dissatisfaction and dread by recognizing when we feel like we are beginning to sink from feeling hopeful, believing and trusting God to act on our behalf by meditating on and speaking out loud what God’s word declares. When doubt and unbelief causes us to begin to feel that sinking feeling from the path that leads upward for the wise, we can take hold of our thoughts and oppose that momentary thought/feeling with God’s word that reinforces what we are believing in Him for to fulfill and perform in our lives.

A while back I posted a message titled, ‘Do You Believe This?’ It is inspired from the dialogue Jesus had with Martha when she came to Him after her brother Lazarus died. Jesus delayed in coming to Mary and Martha’s aid on behalf of their brother Lazarus, who was sick. When Jesus entered the town, a few days later after Martha and Mary sent word to Him that the one He loved (Lazarus) was sick, Martha came out to Jesus and met Him as He entered the town. Martha boldly declared, ‘But I know that even now God will give you whatever you ask.’ Jesus declared to Martha that Lazarus would rise again and understanding the gospel message about the resurrection after death because of Christ, Martha acknowledged what Christ was making known to her. Before Jesus fulfilled her hope in Him to restore her brother, Martha confirmed her belief in Him as the Christ and the source of eternal salvation.

Martha declared what she believed despite what the current condition of her circumstances were saying to her. They came to the place where Lazarus was laid and some in the crowd questioned why the One who opened the eyes of the blind could not keep this man from dying. Then, Martha began to question Jesus about the fact that it had been 4 days, the reality that the body is already decomposing, it probably smells…. “Then Jesus said to her, ‘Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?’John 11:40 NIV
When the people around you, close to you, begin to question God and your circumstances try to prompt you to do the same, remain determined to believe so you can see God’s glory fulfilled in your life and circumstances!

God does not want us to wait until the last day, at the resurrection, to experience the fulfillment of His power and the greatness of His glory. Faith in Christ affords me the distinct privilege of encountering His power and glory in my life and those I pray for with persistence, hope and faith in Him to fulfill what He promises and perform what He speaks!

May God bless you and help you with a timely word to sustain you, strengthen you and empower you to strive by faith towards healing, peace, freedom and success and experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

