SUCCESS IN CHRIST BEGINS WITH THE MIND OF CHRIST

Posted: April 12, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus.”

– Philippians 2:5 NIV

A recent conversation with a friend of mine led to the thought, ‘Where do I stand?’ In his disclosure about how he seeks to demonstrate integrity, self-discipline and faithfulness it inspired that thought within me. Where do I stand on the subject of success and wealth? Do I believe God wants me to be successful? Do I have to be wealthy to be successful as a Christian? If I am not wealthy, does that mean I am living beneath the promises of God for my life? Consistent and careful inspection of the scriptures has led me to my own discovery of the subject of success and wealth and, more important than the subject of success and wealth, it has led me to the greater revelation of the necessity of the continuous renewing of the mind process required if I am to experience and sustain any measure of success and wealth I aspire to achieve in this life.

The NIV version of Philippians 2:5 says, “Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus.” The way I think about success and wealth should be the same as the way Jesus thought about it. Jesus mentioned in Luke 12:15 that a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions. The true value of my life will not be weighed, by God, by the amount of wealth and material goods I have accumulated in my life. Though others around me may marvel at and be envious, God will not be impressed.

Success in Christ begins with learning to think and act like Jesus in how I live daily. To achieve this I have to experience the expectation from God of having my mind renewed. This is vital and critical to understand, because I can accept and confess Christ as my LORD and Savior, but if I don’t begin the process of renewing my mind, I can still operate from the mindset and perspective of the world. “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God-this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is-his good, pleasing and perfect will.” – Romans 12:1-2 NIV

I am persuaded God ordained me to be successful, but I am learning that success as a Christian needs to be extended beyond the realm of material possessions, wealth and personal achievement in the work place and developing one’s fullest potential as an individual. Success as a Christian also will be measured by how I consistently encountered the transformation of becoming more like Christ and made use of all that God blessed me to have to better the lives of others and the world around me! In fact, the latter measure of success determines the reward, or treasure, I will receive in heaven that we lose sight of the longer we live in this world and strive by the standards of this world to attain wealth and achieve success.

“You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” – Ephesians 4:22-24 NIV How successful am I currently in becoming like Christ? Do I have the same ambition to grow spiritually and live for God as I seek to be successful and wealthy? With the same intensity I devote to getting ahead and seeking promotion, do I look to invest time in prayer and bible reading, meditation and scripture memorization? Success as a Christian requires me to. In order to attain the mind of Christ and learn to think as Jesus did, having the same attitude as Jesus did, I must become familiar with the way Jesus talked and lived. To do this I must invest time in prayer and with the word of God, learning to apply the truth of scripture and live by its principles. This is the renewing of the mind process that empowers me to no longer be conformed to the pattern of this world and the standard of success and wealth that stunts our growth in Christ.

How confident would I feel, today, if I had to stand before God and give an account of my measure of success in being a Christian, if God used the measurement of success by the standard of His Son?

May God bless you and help you to experience the fullness of life Christ came for you to have by the continuous renewing of the mind process He requires through time invested in prayer and with His word by reading, meditating and applying its principles.

Leave a Reply

