THE COMPLICATIONS OF SEEKING WORLDLY SUCCESS

Posted: April 21, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“The seed that fell among thorns stands for those who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures, and they do not mature.”

– Luke 8:14 NIV

My oldest brother and I have shared many conversations on the subject of success, wealth and developing your fullest potential in achieving the maximum of what life can offer with the abilities, skills and gifts God has blessed one to use for His glory in this life. As I have witnessed God bless him and elevate him ascending to the position of Fire Chief in his respective field, I can see how those continuous conversations have served me in my field of education and public speaking. As I have labored in faith, striving to achieve and succeed with my new passion of writing,  my eyes have been opened to the reality and challenges that come with seeking worldly success. As the 2011-2012 school year began and I continued to wrestle with God about returning to the classroom, 2nd year after a 10 year absence, the parable of the sower was impressed upon my heart and I began to meditate and reflect upon its relevance to me and my aspirations for success. I felt returning to the classroom was a step backwards going in the wrong direction of where I desired and aspired to be in life.

Facing financial hardship, being displaced professionally due to budget cuts and reassignment back into the classroom, along with experiencing a reduction in time spent with my children associated with the transition of divorce due to having to relocate a further distance from them in losing my apartment, I could see myself as the person described in Jesus’ parable of the sower and the seed sown among thorns. My mind was occupied with much that choked out the word of God’s ability to help me grow in faith, mature in Christ and produce the fruit of love inspired by the work of His Spirit living in me to work in and through me. Despite any external circumstances I may face, it is still God’s desire, purpose and plan for me to mature in faith, grow in Christ and produce the fruit of His Spirit. Striving to achieve, attain and amass worldly success and wealth may cause me to ignore the greater ambition of growing in Christ as a Christian.

“He who pursues righteousness and love finds life, prosperity and honor.” – Proverbs 21:21 NIV

“Humility and the fear of the LORD bring wealth and honor and life.” – Proverbs 22:4 NIV

Humility, fear of the LORD (respect for God), and the pursuit of righteousness (faith in Christ and the application of His principles) results in life, prosperity, honor and wealth. This is what the bible teaches and this is why I believe success is inevitable for the sincere seeker. God promotes success through the bible, but God does not want us to seek success, He wants us to seek after Him, while giving honor to Him for the success we achieve. In comparison to worldly success, those who mature in faith and grow in Christ are seen as successful, if not more, from a heavenly perspective. “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” – Matthew 6:19-21 NIV Seeking worldly success will cause me to have my treasure, focus, solely on what I can attain and amass in this world and not invest in my eternal life. The goal of the Christian is not to become consumed by this world and its principles of living and remain focused, balanced and invested in the eternal things of life too, according to the principles of scripture.

May God bless you and help you to maintain a balanced, focused Christian life maturing in faith, growing in Christ and producing the fruit of His Spirit as you experience the fullness of life Christ came for you to have.

Leave a Reply

