LIVING A SPIRITUAL LIFE REQUIRES GOD

Posted: May 8, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God.”

– Colossians 3:2-3 NIV

The longer we live in this world we can conform to the way the world operates. Our goals and ambitions for success, fulfillment and achievement can become greatly influenced solely by the way the world measures success and the status, standards and stature we can strive to assimilate into the culture of the world around us can blind us to the success and fulfillment God desires for us according to His will for us in His word.

The Old Testament book of Ecclesiastes addresses this, regarding life as vanity and a chasing after the wind. The conclusion of the book of Ecclesiastes, in the twelfth chapter,  inspired by the wisdom of its author, King Solomon, was that we needed to fear God and keep His commandments.  What I take from Solomon’s conclusion is that a life spent invested in attaining and achieving and amassing, apart from the purpose of God, in the end, will be unfulfilling. There is an eternal consequence also that we fail to consider when our hearts and minds are not fully invested in the consistent reading, meditation and application of scripture.

When Jesus spoke to the rich young ruler about inheriting eternal life, He mentioned in response to the young man’s inquiry that if the young man made the sacrifice of his wealth to benefit the poor, he would receive a great treasure in heaven. How often do I consider whether what I am doing currently, in how I live and what I do with my time, is storing up for me great treasure in heaven? When you read the opening of the third chapter of the book of Colossians, verses 1-3 prompt us to consider where our focus for life should truly be while we live in this world as Christians.

What does it mean to set your mind on things above? The bible is challenging me to think about life from heaven’s perspective and not to be conformed to the way the world operates. The Bible provides me the outline (heaven’s perspective) for how I should seek to govern my life in accordance with God’s will for me as a child of God through faith in Christ. When it comes to family, relationships, money, conflict resolution, problem solving, raising children, Christian conduct, work ethic, how to live a spiritual life, the Bible encourages me to understand what God’s will is for me regarding these matters of life. The Bible teaches us in 2 Peter 1 that everything that we need for life and godliness comes through our knowledge of God. Our knowledge of God begins with spending time in His word.

What does it mean that I died and my life is now hidden with Christ in God? Accepting and acknowledging what Christ accomplished on the cross should prompt me to strive daily to die to the natural desires and inclinations I had before I received Christ into my heart. By doing so, I am now dead to the way I used to conform to the way the world operates. Through the prompting of God’s word and His Spirit at work in me and through me, I grow in my desire to live the way God intended me to, dying daily to the desire to do it my way. The way I think things should be done and the way I think and feel the way things should go dies as I grow in my desire to allow God’s will for my life to take precedence and preeminence in my life. In fact, my life is now no longer mine, but God’s. My new life, through faith in Christ, is hidden with Christ in God. I see this as a life that needs to be discovered and the way in which I do this is by seeking God to reveal and unveil before me the life He has for me in Christ.

A lot of what God requires of me to live a spiritual life and experience the fullness of life Christ came for me to have cannot be accomplished without Him, because that life is in Him. That life is in Him, but through faith in Christ, He is now in me. The spiritual life he requires of me, that is in Him, must be allowed to be expressed in and through me in order to be encountered. Apart from Him, I cannot achieve the life He reveals in his word. A spiritual life requires a spiritual source. God is the spiritual source that provides me the ability to live and experience the spiritual life. That spiritual life is hid with Christ in God. “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your minds on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.” – Colossians 3:1 NIV

May God bless you and help you to discover the hidden life with Christ in Him to allow you to experience the fullness of life Christ came for you to have.

Leave a Reply

