INTERNAL SPIRITUAL OPPOSITIONAL DICHOTOMY

Posted: May 26, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“The seed that fell among thorns stands for those who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures, and they do not mature.”

– Luke 8:14 NIV

The reality of life is the longer I live in this world, the more my mind adopts the way the world operates and I then strive to operate in the world in a way that allows me to benefit from being in this world. That would be logical. To begin to think about how to spend my life, for Christ’s sake, on behalf of others so I may store up for myself treasure in heaven is a spiritual concept and would be considered illogical, because that’s not how the world operates. That is, however, the lifestyle required of those who have inherited eternal life through faith in Christ. So, from the moment I receive Christ, my heart, mind and soul are at odds over how to spend my remaining days on earth. Will I continue to live life from a worldly perspective seeking to amass, attain and achieve, or shall I begin to serve, demonstrating self-discipline and self-sacrifice, with the understanding that there is a greater reward learning to live a balanced life focused on heaven’s perspective. Enjoying the life God has given me, making use of the abilities, gifts and talents He has blessed me to use to make a good life for myself, but bless and benefit others along the way, I will learn to mature in my faith walk and not be choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures.

Jesus was challenging the rich young ruler to adopt heaven’s perspective in seeking to inherit eternal life and begin to consider how he could use his wealth to bless and benefit others, but because he had great wealth, he walked away sad not seeing Jesus for who he is because his treasure was in his wealth and not sincerely in seeking to understand how to inherit eternal life. His self-sufficiency blinded him from seeing the sufficiency of God’s love that would cover his transgressions and redeem him from the penalty of sin and save him from death. In all the rich young ruler could do with his wealth, his wealth would never be able to do that for him. This is why Jesus told His disciples in John 15, ‘Apart from me you can do nothing.’ We cannot do anything God requires in order to experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have. If we could, what then, would be the need for Christ?

Misfortune, loss and grief, along with our internal desires for riches and pleasure wrestle against the righteous ambitions within us to live out the life we have been called to Christ to experience by faith. Just as we strive, with determination, to succeed and achieve, from a worldly perspective, God challenges us, through His word and the prompting of His Holy Spirit, to invest ourselves in the advancement of His kingdom to make the world around us a better place and store up for ourselves treasure in heaven. The true goal of the Christian is to learn to live a balanced life that strives to make use of what God has gifted me to succeed and achieve in life, while looking to consistently bless and benefit others around me God brings me into contact with. Jesus mentioned those who were hungry, thirsty, without clothing, sick and in prison. Who among us and around us could benefit from hearing me share how God is helping me to experience the fullness of life Christ came for me to have? Is there a family member God can use me to lead to Christ? In the book of Acts, Peter said to a man who was crippled, ‘Silver and gold I do not have, but that which I do have I give to you. In the name of Jesus Christ rise, take up your mat and walk.’ I may not have wealth, but how consistently am I sharing the wealth and power of the name of Jesus Christ and the truth of scripture with others to affect positive change?

May God bless you and help you to become balanced in your faith walk with Christ in a way that allows you to succeed and achieve and become a person who matures in the faith becoming fruitful to bless and benefit others and experience the fullness of life Christ came for you to have.

Leave a Reply

