PURPOSE IN LIFE; PURPOSE IN CHRIST

Posted: June 12, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“‘Peace be with you! As the Father has sent me, I am sending you.’ And with that he breathed on them and said, ‘Receive the Holy Spirit.'”

– John 20:21-22 NIV

For the Christian, questions like, ‘Why am I here?’ ‘What is my purpose?’ ‘What is the meaning of life?’,’ do not have to remain mystical, unfathomable, or unanswerable. I am convinced that my purpose in life is distinctly intertwined with my purpose in Christ and like the treasure in the hidden field it is to be discovered and disclosed as I sincerely make investment in my faith walk with God through prayer and time spent with His word. The bible teaches that our life is hid with Christ in God which tells me that I must seek Christ and desire to know God to discover the life hid with Christ in God. Another way of saying it is a life of substance, meaning, significance, value and one worthy of God’s approval is a life connected to Christ. Remember, the rich young ruler had great wealth, but he was found still lacking something. Jesus declared that a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions. I Corinthians 13 says that you could give all you have to the poor, surrender your body to the flames, but without love (God is love) it will profit you nothing. So I could be living a life worthy of the gospel, but without the content of the gospel message (Jesus Christ) in my heart, my life will not profit me entrance into heaven in the end.

The parable of the hidden treasure speaks to the principle of purpose from the perspective of a change of perspective of one’s purpose in life. The man who discovered the hidden treasure lived a certain life prior to the discovery of the hidden treasure, but after his discovery, his purpose in life changed with the discovery of the hidden treasure. His new purpose was directly associated with the discovery of the hidden treasure (kingdom of God) and the field (new life in Christ) in which the treasure was hidden that he purchased after investing in it from the sell of his personal possessions (former life) to acquire the field. With the discovery of the hidden treasure (kingdom of God), the man discovered a new purpose for his life. The discovery of the hidden treasure changed his focus from what constituted his former lifestyle to a new ambition inspired by the joy associated with the discovery of the hidden treasure. His concept of wealth and prosperity changed with his discovery, because he sold all his possessions to acquire a field that housed the hidden treasure he discovered. In his joy, he experienced a contentment he did not have with his former life, because the story ends with him investing his former life in the discovery of the hidden treasure and acquiring what appears to be of less value than what he owned previously. The inexplicable power of God at work in the heart and mind of one who believes is the only conclusion one can derive from what would make a man do what the man did in the parable of the hidden treasure when it comes to denying yourself, taking up your cross and following Jesus.

Notice when Jesus says to His disciples that they are being sent as He was sent by the Father, Jesus is speaking to them about purpose. Simply, Jesus is telling them that the same purpose God the Father sent me into this world to live by, I now confer to you. Then He performs the ritual of breathing on them and saying to them to receive the Holy Spirit, to confirm and affirm them in what will happen later in the book of Acts when they are baptized with the anointing of the Holy Spirit. Our status in life, profession, external circumstances or internal challenges does not supersede the purpose of Christ. No matter the height of my ambitions and aspirations, my purpose in life does not dispel my purpose in Christ as a Christian. My true significance, value and worth is not derived from anything other than who I am in Christ. The bible teaches that those who believe in Christ, Christ is my life and that life is hid with Him in God. Meaning, Christ is in me to help me live and experience the fullness of life He came for me to have. The discovery of the hidden treasure and the acquisition of the field is the lifelong encounter of experiencing the fullness of life that comes with investing in the advancement of God’s kingdom on this earth that includes with it treasure in heaven through faith in Christ.

May God bless you and help you to experience the renewed mind through prayer and invested time with His word that will equip, enable and empower you to experience the fullness of life Christ came for you to have and store up for yourself treasure in heaven.

Leave a Reply

