A LIFE INVESTED IN CHRIST

Posted: June 19, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen: to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke, to set the oppressed free and break every yoke? Is it not to share your food with the hungry and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter- when you see the naked to clothe him, and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?”

– Isaiah 58:6-7 NIV

A life invested in Christ is a life spent helping others. Jesus said He came to seek and save those who were lost, to be among those who were sick and to give His life as a ransom for many. He explained to His disciples, who were with Him during His earthly ministry, that He was sending them to do the work of His Father as His Father had sent Him. Before His ascension, Jesus proclaimed to His disciples the Great Commission, to go into all the world and preach the gospel teaching others what He had taught them. A life invested in Christ is a life spent invested in sharing the love, truth and compassion of Jesus Christ. The challenge of the Christian today, as we see it was for those who believed in God during the days of the prophet Isaiah, is to live a balanced life that strives to achieve while also blessing and benefitting others along the way.

When I take the time to reflect back over the past week, month, year, how often has my life been spent invested in bettering someone else’s, including family members (my own flesh and blood), as I have sought to better my own? Early in my faith walk with Christ, I was seeking to understand more about fasting and my oldest brother led me to this passage in Isaiah 58. The New International Version of the bible titles this chapter True Fasting. God challenged the people of Isaiah’s day to consider what fasting during their time accomplished for them in their faith walk with Him. God expressed His displeasure with them, that though they abstained from food in reverence to Him, their conduct and lifestyles did not reflect a change in association with their ritual of sacrifice and self-denial. Though they abstained from food, it did not affect change in the way they conducted themselves and how they treated others. Recent personal challenges I have faced over the past 6 years has helped me to see with more clarity the point of Jesus’ parable of the sower and the seed that fell among thorns that chokes out the seed that grows preventing the heart of the sincere follower of Christ to grow, mature and produce the fruit of faith (change in lifestyle). I have witnessed first hand how the cares of this world, pleasures and the deceitfulness of riches can impede one’s progress in investing one’s life in Christ to spend it for the benefit and betterment of others.

As I have witnessed God’s love at work in my life to defend and deliver me from one challenge after another and continue to uplift and uphold me in the face of great trial and testing, I am compelled more to consider the teachings of Christ on the subject of storing up for yourself treasure in heaven. Conversations with my oldest brother reinforce the need to move from the elementary teachings about faith, as the bible teaches, and give greater consideration to weightier matters of the scripture with regard to my eternal salvation and my purpose in Christ beyond what God can do for me. As former President John Kennedy stated in asking not what America can do for us, but what we can do for the freedom of man, so to is God challenging us to ask what we can do for Him to be a blessing to others.

May God bless you and help you to grow, mature and be fruitful in investing your life in Christ for others as you encounter the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Comments
  1. gracestories says:

    I love “myImmanuel” name–beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

