AN INVESTED LIFE INVOKES CHRIST’S AUTHORITY AND ANOINTING

Posted: June 25, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, to proclaim the year of the LORD’S favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion-to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair. They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the LORD for the display of his splendor.”

– Isaiah 61:1-3 NIV

When the Christian ponders and contemplates the meaning of life and inquires about their ‘purpose’ in this world, Isaiah 61:1-3 addresses this. Those who discover the life that is regarded as truly life; according to what the Apostle Paul declared in 1 Timothy 6 regarding doing good, being rich in good deeds, generous and willing to give, lives a life predicated upon investing themselves in benefitting and blessing others. It is a lifestyle devoted to making use of what God richly provides for our enjoyment to help others in their time of need. It is not just about sharing one’s material goods, because the wealth of who we are, in Christ, far exceeds our net worth from a financial perspective.

In Ephesians 1, the bible teaches that God has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. That is a new testament proclamation of what the prophet Isaiah delcares in Isaiah 61:1-3. In Christ, I have the authority, anointing and ability to help the poor, the brokenhearted, those held captive, prisoners of darkness, and those who mourn. Through the love, grace, mercy, kindness, comfort, inspiration and encouragement God has richly supplied me through His word and His Spirit, I can be that source of replenishment for others. God has created me to be an oak of righteousness to display His splendor to make the world around me a better place. As I rely on the strength of His Spirit, God uses me to become a source of strength for others. As I come to Christ to get rest and peace for my soul, God supplies that source of peace through me to others as I allow Him to work in, through and around me to minister to others. As I devote and invest quality time with His word, the Holy Spirit inspires me to speak it and share it as I courageously position myself to be a mouthpiece for Christ to proclaim His truths to others.

God has gifted us with abilities, aptitude and a growing knowledge of Him and His word, as we grow and mature in faith, to use to encourage, comfort and inspire hope in others. With prayer, invested time with His word and a generous heart sincere in sharing His grace in its various forms, God can make use of us to be a blessing to others as He blesses us! Who is within my sphere of influence that could benefit from receiving the good news preached to the poor? Is there one I am aware of who is brokenhearted that could benefit from what God has richly provided me? Who do I know is currently being held captive in their circumstances, thoughts, or feelings that needs freedom proclaimed to them? Have I come across someone lately who is grieved, mourning, needs to be warned about the direction they’re going in, or weigehed down by the troubles of this world? Write a letter, send a card, email someone, make that phone call, schedule a visit, make it a point to be a vessel through which the LORD’S spledor is displayed and store up for yourselves treasure in heaven!

May God bless you and help you to live the true life invested in the authority and anointing of Jesus Christ, empowered by His word and His Spirit, to benefit and bless others as you experieince the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

