BE STRONG

Posted: July 16, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong. Do everything in love.”

– 1 Corinthians 16:13-14 NIV

Do you believe God is against you experiencing a better quality of life? From experience, I know sometimes it can feel that way, but aside from how I feel in my current circumstances what does my heart and mind believe? Have I allowed the reality of what I am going through to shroud my heart and mind from believing God has plans for me to prosper me and not to harm me, to give me hope for the future as the bible teaches in Jeremiah 29:11-14? Have I internalized the conditions of my current circumstances to allow doubt, unbelief, fear and anxiety to crystallize and create a mindset that causes me to resign to defeat? Am I beginning to believe I am beyond God’s power to fulfill what He promises and perform what He speaks in His word?

Consider the irony of what the Apostle Paul reveals to us in the word of God that should give us hope that God will deliver us and bless us as He did for the Apostle Paul. “Because a great door for effective work has opened to me, and there are many who oppose me.” – 1 Corinthians 16:9 NIV The Apostle Paul speaks of opportunity at the conclusion of the 16th chapter of 1 Corinthians. He also acknowledges that the opportunity God has allowed him to encounter brings with it opposition. Opportunity brings with it opposition. We discover later in 2 Corinthians 1:8 that the opposition became overwhelming, but Paul acknowledges that the opposition challenged their faith to rely on God and God delivered them. “We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.” – 2 Corinthians 1:8b, 9b

As we sojourn with God, in our faith walk with Christ, God will allow us to come face to face with circumstances in our lives that will be beyond our ability (resource, ingenuity, intellect, influence, etc.) to endure, or handle in our own strength. The Apostle Paul learned, and teaches us through his encounter with the opportunity God provided him, that we will need to rely on God (focus more on Him) in order to overcome what seeks to overwhelm us. The resolution. Be strong in the LORD and in His mighty power and watch the sufficiency of His grace equip, enable and empower you to walk by faith in, over, through and around circumstances set as opposition before you to challenge you, by faith, to rely on God.

May God help you and bless you to be strong in Him and in His mighty power as you seek to walk by faith in Christ to experience the fullness of life Christ came for you to have.

Leave a Reply

