THE STRUGGLE WITHIN

Posted: July 23, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”

– Ephesians 6:10-12 NIV

Continued reflection and meditation on this verse from the book of Ephesians has helped me to better identify the enemies of opposition that seek to overcome and prevail against me in my faith walk with Christ. I have discovered that there are internal enemies of opposition that seek to prohibit me from experiencing the fullness of life Christ came for me to have. The enemies of my soul are as real and pose a greater threat to my well-being than my perceived enemies in the world around me externally.

Ephesians 6:12 teaches that our struggle is not against flesh and blood. The people I see in front of me, that I say are my enemies, are not my enemies according to Ephesians 6:12. My struggle is not with them. They may say and do things that are in opposition to me or contrary to Christ, but my struggle is not with them. The ‘real’ struggle is within me to do what God would require of me in a given situation instead of doing what my flesh would desire for me to do. The enemy, or struggle, is my flesh at war with the Spirit of Christ and I determine who wins by how I choose to respond in my circumstances. In my own strength, I will lose every time. This is why the Apostle Paul challenges us to be strong in the LORD and His mighty power.

In the face of misfortune, injustice and grief, God calls me to forgive, love my enemies, pray for those who spitefully use me and abuse me and do good to those who are unkind to me. In the face of great adversity, when my circumstances are telling me to give up hope, God’s word tells me to hope in Him believing He has the power to do what He promises. When my heart is shrouded with fear, doubt and anxiety, God gently whispers to me to believe and have faith. There are thoughts and feelings that can infiltrate our heart, mind and soul and render us unfruitful and unproductive in our faith walk with Christ if we allow them. They can create distance between us and God and prevent us from experiencing the fullness of life Christ came for us to have. These thoughts and feelings can render the authority of Christ’s name and the anointing of His Holy Spirit powerless within us to live victoriously if we are not careful. Cast all your cares and anxieties on God because He cares for you and wants you to experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have!

May God bless you and help you to identify within you the enemies of your heart, mind and soul that seek to prohibit you from experiencing the fullness of life Christ came for us to have so you can walk in the authority of His name and the anointing of His Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

