MORE THAN ENOUGH

Posted: July 31, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

– 2 Corinthians 12:9 NIV

I have shared in a previous post that Hannah, Elijah and Jesus had something in common during the days they lived in the earth. They shared a common struggle with the troubles of life and they each shared openly with God how they were feeling about what they were struggling with. I am learning that sharing expressed intense emotions with God in prayer positions me to encounter a greater outpouring of His grace and power to help me in my circumstances. Perhaps some may see expressed feelings as a sign of weakness, but the Apostle Paul saw it as an opportunity to rely more on God’s grace and receive power from God to help him live victoriously!

“Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.” – Psalm 55:22 NIV I believe acknowledged and accepted thoughts and feelings that stand in direct opposition to allowing you to experience the fullness of God’s power at work within you and through you is what will empower you to live victoriously. David declared in Psalm 139:1-4 that God knows our thoughts before we even speak them. The benefit of speaking them is being open intimately with God in a posture of sincere humility, even when our thoughts and feelings are in opposition to what God desires for us, or how we see Him. Hebrews 5:7-8 mentioned that Jesus was heard in prayer, during the days He prayed with loud cries and tears before the Father, because of His reverent submission. In the garden of Gethsemane, Jesus acknowledged His struggle internally with His own desire to fulfill God’s plan of salvation through His death, but also acknowledged and accepted God’s will even if God did not answer His prayer the way He desired.

The Apostle Paul shared his intimate discourse with God over his concern about a ‘thorn’ that was a source of struggle for him in his faith walk with Christ. God’s response to Paul was, “IAm more than enough for you, despite how you feel and what you are going through.” It is in the midst of how we are feeling and the reality of what we are facing that God desires to reveal, manifest and make Himself known as the One who is more than enough for us! It is His desire for us to experience the ‘immeasurably more lifestyle,’ beyond what we can think or imagine that can only occur as we allow His power to work in us! God may not relieve me of my circumstances when I pray, but as I release to Him my cares, He can relieve me in my circumstances with more grace and power to help me endure, persevere and live victoriously despite how I feel and what is happening.

May God bless you and help you to cast your cares, expressing those intense internal thoughts and emotions, that prohibit the greater flow of His grace and power so you may live the victorious spiritual life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

