LIVING SACRIFICES

Posted: August 20, 2012 in Books, Christianity, Education, Family, History, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Quotes, Uncategorized

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

– Galatians 2:20 NIV

Jesus Christ gave Himself over to death for my sake so I would be able to live for Him. I am to present myself before God, through faith in Christ, as a living sacrifice. The means by which I present myself is through prayer. The way Jesus explained it was to take up my cross daily, deny myself and follow Him. It is a lifestyle of surrender prompted by an attitude of humility. Sincere prayer is an act of humility, because it is a reverential acknowledgement that God is who He says He is and a genuine expression of dependency for God to do what He says He will do which includes being transformed more into the likeness of His Son. “And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.” – Hebrews 11:6 NIV

God has desires for me He seeks to satisfy in the process of satisfying my desires with good things. I must make sure my desires, when I pray, include what His will is for me, otherwise, my desires become a Christmas list of wishes with no consideration for what God desires from me in return for what I seek from Him. The Apostle Paul explained it this way, “Be very careful, then, how you live-not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.” – Ephesians 5:15-17 NIV As I mature in my faith walk with Christ, I am compelled to give greater consideration to how I can spend and invest my life for the advancement of God’s kingdom in the earth as I express to God my desire for Him to advance me with my dreams, goals and ambitions.

“For the pagans run after all these things and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness and all these things will be given to you as well.” – Matthew 6:32-33 NIV Earlier in my Christian walk I came across two separate Lexus ad campaigns that I felt summarized the principle of being a living sacrifice. Their ads read, ‘The Passionate…’ and ‘The Relentless Pursuit of Perfection.’ Someone who is sincere in being a living sacrifice embraces and embodies the principles of being relentless and passionate in becoming like Jesus. “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 3:14 NIV

May God bless you and help you to grow in the grace and truth of Christ becoming more like Him, in attitude and actions, so you may experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

