“When the LORD God made the earth and the heavens and no shrub of the field had yet appeared on the earth and no plant of the field had yet sprung up, for the LORD God had not sent rain on the earth and there was no man to work the ground.”

– Genesis 2:4b-5 NIV

During the time I have spent investing quality, quiet time with the word of God there have been moments of revelation and illumination that have been a source of great inspiration. One such moment was the revelation of God’s involvement in Creation and how it relates to my desire to see the fulfillment of His promises in my life according to His word. It is a life lesson, practical application of His wisdom, I still wrestle and struggle with, but benefit from greatly when I surrender and respond to it.

When God made the heavens and the earth, it began with God declaring, speaking into existence, what ought to be from nothing (darkness). By His authority and power, God created all that exists and established the order by which everything would operate. What I discovered, through revelation of reading the account of Creation from the book of Genesis in chapter 2, was the fact that God planted seeds in the earth and then watered the earth to cause the plant life to grow. God had power to create everything anyway He chose, but He took His time and planted seeds, watered them and allowed the process of growth to occur. This simple truth reminded me that God is not asking me to do anything He has not already done. God planted seeds, watered them and waited for the process to produce what He planted.

Though I still struggle with waiting patiently, when I begin to wrestle with the discipline of waiting patiently, I am now reminded of what was revealed to me in the Scriptures, that teaches me to wait when I become impatient. How beneficial, I am learning, it is to read and reflect upon what is written in God’s word, and as Jesus taught His disciples, the Spirit of Truth, will teach us all things and bring them back to our remembrance to help us in our time of need (John 14).

May God bless you and help you to invest quality, quiet time with His word so you may receive His revelation and illumination, and apply His wisdom, to help you experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

