“I know that you can do all things; no plan of yours can be thwarted.”

– Job 42:2 NIV

Since the beginning of 2013 I have encountered this verse in a variety ways. Whether it was through the process of my private devotion time, through the devotional Our Daily Bread, or through a sermon, Job 42:2 has been a consistent source of encouragement and inspiration as 2012 transitioned into 2013. When I initially read it, what resonated within me was the reminder that what God has proclaimed in His word and whispered to me in my heart about what His plans are for me will not be deterred from becoming a reality!

When I take a moment to consider the source from which this passage was declared, I am reminded that Job was staring misfortune, injustice and grief in the face having lost all he possessed and was currently riddled with sores from head to toe. Somehow, despite the reality of his circumstances demanding of him to give up hope and give up on believing in God for something better; somewhere within him, deep within his soul, Job had the audacity to express his belief in God to do something on his behalf!

God has a plan of restoration, healing, renewal and deliverance for those who still hold out believing in His promise to do what He proclaims in His word. God’s plans are to make things new, better, whole and well! Despite what the reality of my circumstances may say, what the current condition of the challenges I face may declare, I must believe anyhow! Faith begins when things look bleak, when times are difficult and I am in the deepest darkness of my midnight hour! I was also reminded in the time I reflected on this verse from the book of Job that Job had no idea God had determined to give him double for all that he had endured and persevered through! God wants to reward those who are willing to remain confident in Him and continue to do His will!

May God bless you and help you to continue to do His will and remain confident He will keep His promise so you may experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

