“My heart says of you, ‘Seek his face!’ Your face, LORD, I will seek.”

-Psalm 27:8 NIV

 

We all need a place where we can escape to that provides us solitude and refreshment from life’s opposition. A place where we can acquire the proper perspective that equips, enables and empowers us to navigate successfully through the misfortune, grief and injustice towards the greater, better and new. A recent quote I read said, “Life is not about getting through the storm, but learning how to dance in the rain.” Being able to dance in the rain, in the midst of my storms requires me to find my Gethsemane.

“When I tried to understand all of this, it troubled me deeply til I entered the sanctuary of God.” – Psalm 73:16-17a NIV The author of Psalm 73 acknowledges his own internal struggle that was occurring due to the reality of his own misfortune in comparison to the people around him who were prospering who claimed no allegiance to God. It disturbed him greatly; until he found his Gethsemane. “Then Jesus went with his disciples to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to them, ‘Sit here while I go over there and pray.’ – Matthew 26:36 NIV

Gethsemane is the place where I meet with God, at the throne of grace, where I receive peace that guards my heart and mind and helps me learn to dance in the rain in the midst of my storms. Gethsemane is the place where I learn to cast all my cares and anxieties upon God, leaving them there with Him, and allow Him to speak peace to my soul that gives me joy in return for my sorrow. “Hannah was praying in her heart, and her lips were moving but her voice was not heard. ‘I am a woman who is deeply troubled.I have been praying here out of my great anguish and grief.” – 1 Samuel 1:13a, 15b, 16b NIV

May God bless you and help you to find your Gethsemane to help you access the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

