“For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God.”

– Romans 8:20-21 NIV

Though I struggle with the discipline of maintaining consistent intimate time spent with reading the word of God, time spent has revealed truths, insights and wisdom that has been essential and beneficial as I have sought to walk by faith. During the most difficult, challenging and adverse points of this current season of my life, over the past 5 years, Romans 8:20-21 serves as a reminder to me about the full scope of the will of God to help me remain balanced in my understanding of who He is and not just how I desire Him to be for me.

In Isaiah 55:8-9 God proclaims the vast difference of who He is to how men would perceive Him, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,’ declares the LORD. ‘As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.'” Never is this more true than the means by which God would use suffering, misfortune, injustice and grief to lead to something miraculous, glorious and wondrous.

When you read Romans 8:20-21 carefully, this is the thought that comes to my mind about the subject of being ‘subjected to frustration.’ Not by our own choice, but by the will of God, we have been subjected to frustration in hope that each man would be liberated from the decay of sin, death and the grave and embrace salvation, through faith in Jesus Christ, and eternal life. I do not believe this verse is saying God is responsible for all of my misfortune, because every man has his own will to make choices independent of what God desires for us. Every choice has its own consequences, good or bad, but God is not responsible for the choices we make. What I do believe the verse is saying is that when God allows disappointments, discouraging moments and difficulties to occur in our lives, it is with the desire that we would respond in a way that leads to a more intimate, personal encounter with Him that leads to the fullness of life Christ came for us to have that reveals the value of faith in Christ.

May God bless you and help you to persevere and endure the reality of being subjected to frustration so you may experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

