“That the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God.”

– Romans 8:21 NIV

Have you encountered the freedom that comes from experiencing frustration?

Have you ever witnessed someone in the midst of frustrating circumstances that ultimately brought about for them a redemptive, miraculous transformation?

How do you experience frustration in a way that leads to freedom? Freedom from what?

You definitely would not have to go looking for frustration in order to encounter the freedom that can come from learning how to deal with it in a way that puts you in position for a redemptive, miraculous transformation. Clearly Romans 8 suggests that it would not be something we would ask for, or volunteer for, ‘For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it.’ – Romans 8:19a NIV

What I learn from this passage in Romans 8:18-27 reminds me that God has a purpose for the ‘frustration’ I am subjected to in this life. The purpose of that ‘frustration’ is to drive me towards experiencing a more intimate, personal encounter with Him that reveals within me, and to others, the value of being a child of God. Embracing the reality that all hardship, misfortune, grief and injustice is but a ‘tool’ in the hand of my Creator as a means to help me experience Him more will go a long way in helping me learn to allow my ‘frustrations in life’ to lead me to the ‘freedom in Christ’ God intended for me when He chose me to become a child of God. “Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as sons. Our fathers disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, that we may share in his holiness.” – Hebrews 12:7, 10 NIV

I would say that learning to allow my ‘frustrations to lead to freedom’ begins with: 1) accepting my frustrations that exist, 2) embracing them as reality, but 3) seeing them as God’s way of helping me grow spiritually in how I respond to them so I may become more like Christ (sharing in His holiness) in how I live despite my ‘frustrations.’ The truth and reality is that this is more often easier said than done, but it is also liberating when it is accomplished! “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.” – Galatians 5:1 NIV

May God bless you and help you to ascend above and transcend the reality of frustrations you have been subjected to in this life so you may experience the freedom in Christ and the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

