“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

– Matthew 11:28-30 NIV

The One who subjects me to frustration invites me to come to Him to allow Him to alleviate and relieve me of my troubles. You may ask, ‘How does frustration lead to freedom?‘ Jesus sheds light on this question in this invitation written in Matthew’s gospel. All of the obstacles and oppositions to faith we face in this world are not all external (around us; outside of us). Frustration is an emotion that can be an internal opposition to our faith and obstacle to experiencing the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

God is not going to spare me from all of the external forces, obstacles and opposition that I face in this world, but He invites me to come to Jesus so I may experience relief from my distress and the weight of the duress that creates the distress. “My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one. Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth.” – John 17 :15, 17 NIV Though I am subjected to frustration, God promises to provide for me, preserve my life and protect me. The invitation Jesus speaks in Matthew’s gospel is an opportunity to encounter something intimate, personal and redemptive with the Creator that reveals the value of being a child of God.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33 NIV There are things Jesus wants to speak to me so that in Him I will have a peace that enables me to overcome the troubles of this world as He overcame them. There is a strength and power that comes from that ‘peace in Christ’ that can only be obtained from coming to Jesus. This is how frustration leads to freedom.

May God bless you and help you to come to Jesus and cast all your cares upon Him so you may receive rest for your soul, peace from His word, and experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

 

Leave a Reply

