“I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.”

– Romans 7:15, 18 NIV

Have I recognized the ‘part of me’ that gets in the way of where I desire to go in my pursuit of experiencing something greater, better and new?

Can I detect within me the thoughts and emotions that originate from my heart and mind that inhibit and prohibit progress, success and prosperity?

Once I’ve made up my mind in identifying the direction I strive to go towards something greater, better and new in my faith walk with God and what needs to be done to benefit myself and/or others spiritually, physically, mentally, emotionally, financially, professionally, or relational, what thoughts and feelings begin to invade the desires and aspirations of my heart to dissuade my mind and prevent me from following through? You know those thoughts that counter one’s desire to pray, to give, to forgive, to serve, to go to church, to sacrifice, to witness to others about Jesus Christ. You know that ‘tired feeling’ that comes over you like a pile of bricks when you make up your mind you will devote time to reading the bible.

Antithesis is defined as something, or someone who is opposite of a person, or thing; or an opposing thought or view of something else. Am I conscious consistently of the ‘part of me’ that actively seeks to get in the way of me making progress, succeeding and experiencing the greater prosperity God seeks to bring me into as I walk by faith? Do I create a strategic plan for overcoming the ‘part of me’ that would keep me living on a lower level of life apart from the fullness of life Christ came for me to have? Does that plan include: 1) Prayer, 2) Reading the bible and Meditation on the word of God, 3) Application of the scripture, 4) Accountability Partner?

As long as I am alive I am in position to experience something greater, better and new in my faith walk with God. How many possibilities and opportunities have I allowed the ‘antithesis of me’ to distract, dissuade and deter me from pursuing, or lead me astray from where God wants to lead me into? Where in my life, currently, do I desire to experience something greater, better and new?

What am I willing to do to put myself in position and display the proper posture to allow God to bring me into the fullness of what Christ came for me to have?

May God bless you and help you to fight against the antithesis of what would prevent you from experiencing the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

