“The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, to proclaim the year of the LORD’S favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion.”

– Isaiah 61:1-3a NIV

I see the ‘antithesis of me’ as a context of life. I see salvation as the opportunity to experience another context beyond what we are familiar with that allows us to experience the reality of God in a way that inspires us to share the ‘good news’ of His existence with others that they may experience Him too. Jesus affirms this in His dialogue with the disciples in John 14.

One of the disciples inquires as to why Jesus would not just reveal Himself to the whole world and this was Jesus’ reply, “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.” – John 14:23 NIV There is an essential truth in being a Christian that personifies having a faith walk with Jesus Christ. The essential truth is the understanding that whatever context of life I was in before I accepted Christ, my ‘new life in Christ’ should personify the character and attributes of Christ’s power that benefits and blesses others. That power is highlighted in Isaiah 61:1-3.

Beyond salvation, how does my faith walk personify the character and attributes of Christ’s person and His power in affecting change in the lives of people around me? The ‘antithesis of me’ would seek to deter, dissuade and discourage me from engaging in a sincere and genuine faith walk with God beyond salvation due to the cost and sacrifice it requires of me. My ability to encounter a lifestyle that consistently personifies being ‘conformed into the image of Jesus Christ,’ involves the act of consecration, sanctification, and glorification. This is a spiritual process that is initiated when we actively seek to pursue God to develop an intimate, personal faith walk, just as He pursues us. “Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.” – John 14:21 NIV According to what Jesus said, I should encounter God and experience something intimate and personal with Christ before I get to heaven. Is it possible that the ‘fullness of life’ involves, or includes, what is mentioned in Isaiah 61:1-3? Is it possible that the ‘fullness of life’ involves experiencing Christ’s power in a way that benefits and blesses others in a manner we could not experience it apart from Him?

May God bless you and help you to encounter Him and experience something intimate and personal in your faith walk with jesus Christ that allows you to experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Comments
  1. […] Beyond Salvation (myimmanuel.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

