“I am the LORD your God; consecrate yourselves and be holy, because I am holy.”

– Leviticus 11:44 NIV

The word consecrate simply means to make sacred. How do I make myself ‘sacred’ to God? What does it mean to ‘consecrate yourself?’

Romans 12:1-2 says, “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God- this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is-his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

1 John 1:9 says, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”

Ephesians 4:22 says, “You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.”

I believe consecration, after salvation, is the continual process of actively participating in a change of heart and mind that is inhibiting and prohibiting me from experiencing something greater, better and new in my faith walk with God. Repentance comes to mind when I think about what it means to ‘consecrate myself.’  Repentance is about acknowledging where I am wrong in my actions and way of thinking and my sincere recognition that God’s word is true and right. The troubles of life Jesus said we would experience in this world will create obstacles and opposition and try to sever me from my intimate, personal connection with God. Experience is teaching me that most of those obstacles and opposition are internal and not external. “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” – Ephesians 6:12 NIV

Consecration is about embracing God and His word sincerely with an intent on striving to live in a manner that please Him while also acknowledging, thoughts, attitudes and actions that are contrary to what His word teaches how a child of God should conduct themselves by thought, word and deed. Whether I am in a season of adversity, or prosperity, or I feel joyful, or depressed, how should I conduct myself as a Christian? Whether I am married, or single, separated, or divorced, what does God’s word say about how to handle myself? In the face of misfortune, grief and injustice, what should I do? When God has not responded to me, or delayed in answering my prayers what should my response be? According to the meaning of consecration, the answer would always be in relation to conducting myself in a manner that makes myself, my thinking, my actions and speech sacred to God.

I see consecration as the perpetual motion of my striving, seeking, sincere pursuit of God in an interactive relationship centered around the application of His word. As God is described in scripture in pursuit of me, consecration causes me to pursue Him. No matter how many times I falter, fail and fall short, consecration is about getting back up on my feet and continuing my pursuit, as long as I live in this world until we see each other face to face in heaven.

May God bless you and help you to consecrate yourself and live in a manner that positions you to experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

