“See, the former things have taken place, and new things I declare; before they spring into being I announce them to you.”

– Isaiah 42:9 NIV

Beyond salvation, being a Christian is about being transformed into the image of God, becoming more like Jesus. The internal transformation of the believer that results in Jesus Christ personified externally is the core theme promoted in scripture in the New Testament. No matter what our other ambitions may be, the Christian’s main priority in this world is outlined in scripture and revealed to us through our intimate, personal relationship with God through faith in Jesus Christ. No matter where we are in our faith walk, or how long we have been walking by faith, the challenge for the Christian is maintaining a balanced priority of life that emphasizes the eternal over the temporal, the spiritual (heavenly things) over the natural (worldly things). Life experience has taught me that this is only achieved by the consistent quality, quiet time I spend with God through prayer and reading/meditating on His word.

The concept of greater, better and new is born out of the belief that I am in position, every day, to experience something greater, better and new in my faith walk with God, beyond salvation, if I do not limit God, or box Him in, thinking that everything I need God to do is external, or material. The ability to ascend, or transcend, beyond the reality of the condition of my current circumstances is determined by my ability to connect with God in a manner that uplifts me and helps me to navigate in, through and around the troubles of this life Jesus said we would have. “The LORD confides in those who fear him; he makes his covenant known to them.” – Psalm 25:14 NIV God wants to speak to our hearts in a way that strengthens our faith walk with Him that leaves us assured, confident and content that He is God and He rewards those that diligently seek after Him regardless of how difficult, trying, or challenging the circumstances.

Faith is not just about believing God is, but God is able, in every circumstance to do what He promises and He will perform what He has spoken no matter how long I’ve waited. Faith is more about what God can do in me and through me than about what He can do for me. When you combine what is written in Isaiah 42:9 with Psalm 25:14, it illustrates a picture of God confiding in someone as one would with a trusted friend information that would not necessarily be revealed to everyone. Everyone who is a child of God has the privilege of encountering an intimate, personal friendship relationship with God that would position them to ‘hear things from God’ pertaining to His word (his covenant known to them) that would deepen their understanding of God and His word as they walk by faith. “And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever- the Spirit of truth. But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.” – John 14:16-17a, 26

May God bless you and help you to be in position and the proper posture (humility) to experience something greater, better and new in relation to the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

 

Leave a Reply

