CONSECRATION: THE PURSUIT OF PERFECTION

Posted: August 5, 2013 in Art, Books, Christianity, Education, Encouragement, Faith, Family, History, Hope, Inspiration, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Photography, Politics, Quotes, Success, Travel, Uncategorized

“Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. I am the vine, you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

– John 15:4-5 NIV

I heard a quote recently that stated, ‘Pursuit of perfection leads to excellence.’ It made me think about Christ’s proclamation from His sermon on the mount, ‘Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.’ – Matthew 5:48 NIV It made my understanding of Christ’s proclamation easier to grasp and explain. My pursuit of striving to live in a manner worthy of the gospel will lead to excellence. I will never become perfect, but I can strive for perfection and by being consistent, I can achieve excellence.

As one has ambition for money, fame, power, marriage, children, employment, promotion, success; do I have ambition to become the child of God in the way God has commanded me to live in a manner that pleases Him according to His word? Consecration is about striving sincerely to consistently pursue an intimate, personal relationship with God throughout the duration of my time spent in this earthly existence that distinguishes me as a child of the Most High God. No matter how many times I may falter, fail or fall short, the ambition of the sincere Christian is to shake the dust off, get back up from the height they have fallen and continue the pursuit of perfection. Why? Because nothing can separate me from the love of God in Christ Jesus. As long as I am alive I am in position to encounter something greater, better and new in my faith walk with God!

I may never obtain all my heart desires in relation to wealth, fame and fortune, but without my effort to abide in Christ and allow His word to abide in me, I will never achieve all that God promises in His word about who I am in Christ and what God said He would do for those who love Him and keep His commands. is there a greater pursuit than the pursuit of God?

May God bless you and help you to experience excellence as you walk with Him by faith so you may be in position and the proper posture to experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

