‘You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.’

– Isaiah 26:3 NIV

How would you explain what it means to be content?

The Apostle Paul told Timothy that godliness with contentment is great gain (1Timothy 6:6).

Paul mentioned in his epistle Philippians 4:12 that he had learned ‘the secret of being content.’

A text came to me recently that included the verse from 1 Timothy 6:6. It was a timely message coming the day after I encountered a disappointment. I received it as God encouraging me to be content despite what was happening. I felt like it was God’s way of saying, ‘Don’t worry. Something better is on the horizon. This momentary disappointment is not worth fretting over.’ So I began to study different verses that were highlighted in my study bible associated with the verse 1 Timothy 6:6. Paul’s statement in Philippians 4 always comes to mind when I think about the subject of contentment, but this time I desired to reflect on how I would explain what it meant to me when sharing it with someone else.

After writing many thoughts down on paper, my final summation came as inspiration that helps me to identify with what Paul disclosed as the secret he learned in Philippians 4:12.

Contentment- accepting the will of God; being at peace, at rest, and surrendered to God’s will (good or bad). I believe this is what the Apostle Paul was alluding to in Philippians 4:12 as his secret learned in being content.

The inspired illustration from scripture I associate with this is Mary’s response to the angel who greeted her as blessed and highly favored and she replied by saying, ‘May it be unto me as the LORD has said,’ upon hearing the news she was chosen to give birth to Christ, the Anointed One. I see her response as a response of surrender to God’s will for her life. (see Luke 1:38)

Also, in Philippians 4:7, Paul talks about the peace that passes all understanding. That same peace is described as ‘perfect peace’ in Isaiah 26:3. Christ’s encounter in the garden of Gethsemane as He labored in prayer about God’s will for His life is what comes to mind when I think about this peace described in scripture. The peace that overshadows you and keeps you at rest despite the reality of the condition of your current circumstances. It is the manifest presence of God that sustains and strengthens us to endure, persevere, overcome, and prevail against what seeks to overcome and prevail against us! It’s the peace that allowed Job to believe that he would come out as pure gold on the other side of his grief, misfortune, and loss and declare, ‘Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him.’ – Job 13:15 KJV

May God bless you and help you to position yourself before Him with the proper posture that will allow you to encounter His peace that invokes praise despite the reality of the condition of your current circumstances.

Leave a Reply

