‘Who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. The LORD is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love.’

– Psalm 103:5, 8 NIV

What’s your favorite verse of scripture?

Have you ever had the encounter of coming across a particular passage, verse of scripture and, upon reading it, you were overcome with joy, or broke out in praise?

That happened to me the very first time I read Psalm 103.

I was overcome with an intense joy and broke out in praise reflecting on all the benefits of God as I read Psalm 103 line by line!  I was sitting alone at the time and as my eyes met with the words written there was this eruption of joy and praise that overcame me and filled me. It was an encounter with His word I will always cherish that is a reminder to me of His intimate presence and the type of interaction He seeks for us to experience with Him as we walk by faith.

Ever labor in faith, through prayer, and saw God reward it?

Have you experienced being satisfied by God, declaring, like David, ‘I shall not want,’ both feeling it and believing it?

What about encountering a season where it was more important to be a vessel to distribute His goodness to others than looking for what God could do for you?

Has anyone ever said to you, ‘I am always encouraged, uplifted, or inspired when I talk with you,’ or felt that way about someone you talk with?

Have you ever considered it was God speaking through them to you?

Can you recall that moment when you heard His Holy Spirit whisper the timely word, or apt reply, that spoke life, light, and hope into the soul of someone engulfed in darkness and despair?

How many times have you been in fellowship, or conversation with someone, the conversation leads to a reflection upon a particular passage, or verse of scripture, and by the end of the week you hear it in a sermon, read it in a book, or it is preached from your television screen?

Can you recall the time when you were thinking about something needed, wanted, or desired, didn’t pray about it, but God provided it?

What about after you did what God desired, yours was given to you on the other side of your obedience?

What about the way God equipped, enabled, and empowered you to come through your misfortune, grief, loss, and injustice like pure gold?

Has you ever felt uplifted by God, like David said, ‘he lifts up my head,’ in Psalm 3?

When Moses requested of God, ‘Show me your glory,’ God responded by saying to Moses, ‘I will cause all of my goodness to pass in front of you.’ When we encounter God’s goodness, it is a display of His glory! (see Exodus 33:18-23)

May God bless you and help you to experience His goodness in its various forms that transitions you into the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

