His Intimate Imminence

 READ Psalm 57

“Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me, for in you my soul takes refuge. I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings until the disaster has passed.’ – Psalm 57:1 NIV

 

The gnawing feelings of loneliness, isolation, or emptiness seem to intensify in the face of adversity, opposition and moments of great difficulty and seasons of darkness. Experience has taught me that even in the company of others I can still feel the emptiness that comes with feeling lonely and alone. In becoming a Christian, will I escape the darkness of the world filled with moments of emptiness, isolation and loneliness?

What should my response to life’s circumstances be when I am feeling overwhelmed and held hostage by the debilitating thoughts and emotions associated with emptiness, isolation and loneliness? Even in the bible there are people, who having faith in God, found themselves in those dark places of life facing the trials that come with feeling alone, isolated and empty. A man named Job, who lost everything and was suffering from declining health, could not sense the presence of God with him in his troubles.

Even today my complaint is bitter, his hand is heavy in spite of my groaning. If only I knew where to find him; if only I could go to his dwelling! Yet I am not silenced by the darkness, by the thick darkness that covers my face.’– Job 23:2-3,17 NIV Even Jesus Christ, God’s one and only Son felt abandoned by God while suffering on the cross for the sins of the world to liberate mankind from sin, death and the realities of this world like loneliness, isolation, and emptiness. ‘ My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?’– Matthew 27:46b NIV

Faith in Christ does not exempt me from bitterness, emptiness or feelings associated with grief precipitated by loneliness, emptiness or isolation. Faith in Christ enables me to overcome the realities of this world through a growing personal relationship with God! ‘Because he loves me, says the LORD, ‘ I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him;  I will be with him in trouble.’ – Psalm 91:14, 15b

May God bless you and help you to encounter His intimate presence to settle, strengthen, and establish you in encountering the fullness of life Christ came for us to have!

Leave a Reply

