HEALING: THE POWER OF THE WORD OF GOD

Posted: August 2, 2015 in Art, Books, Christianity, Education, Encouragement, Faith, Family, History, Hope, Inspiration, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Photography, Politics, Quotes, Success, Travel, Uncategorized

PrayerBible

‘For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.’  – Hebrews 4:12

There is an internal unseen work of God occurring every time I invest quality, quiet time reading His word. The word of God is described as living and active. I would describe the word of God as medicine for the soul. Whenever I sense a stress induced headache about to begin, or some type of physical pain (usually my back) I rely on Advil. My body responds well to Advil and it consistently provides me the relief I need from the physical symptoms of pain. The word of God is described in Hebrews 4 in the same way I have benefitted from taking Advil.

Anyone who has spent any significant time reading the word of God can attest to what happens when we fail to spend that consistent quiet, quality time allowing the word of God to fill our heart, soul, and mind with the transforming agent of God’s word. The word of God has the way of bringing relief, comfort, affirmation, healing, joy, peace, strength, courage, encouragement, confidence, assurance, hope, stability, and closeness to God in the midst of dark, difficult moments.

The word of God is not just food for the soul, but fuel for my spirit to help me draw from the Spirit of God to live for Him and strive to walk by faith. The greater my daily intake of the word of God is what inspires, motivates, and moves me to stand firm against what seeks to overcome and prevail against me. Pains from my past and the present inner turmoil I encounter as my inner man wrestles with the war of good and evil raging within me is managed and mastered by my self-discipline in the consistent time devoted to reading the word of God. The less time I have for the word of God, the less I am able to live victoriously and experience the healing power God supplies by the authority and anointing power of His word. When I am feeling disillusioned, disappointed, discouraged, or even defeated by life’s troubles, the word of God is the remedy!

Father, bless us and help us to demonstrate the necessary self-discipline to devote consistent quiet, quality time with You in Your word to experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have. 

OutOfTheDarkness

Discover God’s plan, purpose, fulfillment, power, and glory revealed in salvation through faith in Jesus Christ and discover the elevated, expanded, exponential lifestyle encountered walking by faith.

Leave a Reply

