grace_dove-change

‘But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.’ – 2 Corinthians 12:9 NIV

Walking by faith involves the process of recognizing my inadequacy and acknowledging God’s sufficiency. Understanding, in my own strength, I fall short in being fully what God intended no matter my affluence, influence, independence, position, status, or power; I am compelled to see my humanity was created to rely upon God’s power. Even the rich young ruler was cited by Jesus as still lacking one thing. In all that the Apostle Paul accomplished, he still had a weakness and saw a need for God. David, a man after God’s own heart who defeated a lion, bear, and Goliath proclaimed the Lord as His Shepherd who led him and provided him rest.

In response to Paul’s need, we understand our weakness invites God’s power. Our deficiencies, inadequacies, and limitations allows room for God’s sufficient grace to perfect, strengthen, and empower us to live and thrive. Walking by faith is about surrender, humility, accepting my need for God and then demonstrating the proper posture, in my heart and mind, that allows God to extend me beyond myself and exceed my limitations.

The rich young ruler’s encounter with Jesus ends with him walking away sad, despite being rich, still lacking the one thing he desired most that his wealth and status could not acquire for him. David, from his childhood, encountered an amazing journey and life, with highs and lows, that afforded him the privilege of seeing God elevate him, expand the reach of his influence, and exponentially bless him beyond his ability to achieve on his own. Forsaken by his parent and disregarded by his family, David’s devotion to God made him powerful in his faith walk and experience God’s person, presence, and power in inexplicable ways. Give God the opportunity to do in and through you what He did for David and let Him be for you who He was as Paul’s sufficiency. No matter what I accomplish in this life, as the rich young ruler discovered, I don’t have the ability to go to heaven on my own.

Father, bless us and help us to remain in a posture consistently that allows us to encounter Your person, presence, and power to help us live and thrive and be a light and salt to make the world around us a better place.

OutOfTheDarkness Click on the book to purchase your copy today!

Comments

Leave a Reply

