IS SALVATION GOD’S PROMISE FOR WEALTH & RICHES

Posted: August 6, 2013 in Art, Books, Christianity, Education, Encouragement, Faith, Family, History, Hope, Inspiration, Life, Lifestyle, News, Parenting, Photography, Politics, Quotes, Success, Travel, Uncategorized

‘But those who want to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many senseless and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil, and in their eagerness to be rich some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pains.’

– 1 Timothy 6:9-10 NRSV

Is God against His children being rich? Is the desire for or the accumulation of wealth a sin? Judge for yourself as you read and reflect upon what is written in the verse atop this message. Recently, I received a text from someone who included 1 Timothy 6:6 in their message and it came at a moment that was critical to me remaining content and at rest despite what had happened the day before the text. ‘Of course, there is great gain in godliness combined with contentment.’ – 1 Timothy 6:6 NRSV

Since publishing this inquiry I have had many thoughts, encounters, and dialogues on the subject of wealth, God’s favor, and the ambition of being successful/wealthy from one’s labor (hard work). In the process of my continued pursuit of becoming a published author, one prevailing thought that allowed me to be content with having to invest large sums of money into the process (self-publishing) was, ‘The money does not belong to me anyway, because it all belongs to God. God is providing me the money to live and if I believe He will bless my efforts to publish, why should I struggle with the amount invested?” Faith requires risk, sacrifice, and surrender. So does success. Wealth requires hard work and even if it’s inherited it requires work to keep it.

So is 1 Timothy 6:9-10 discouraging wealth, or the attitude adopted by those whose passior, or desire for wealth exceeds healthy boundaries? Abraham, Solomon, David, Job were all regarded as men of faith and the scripture described them as being wealthy. Recent thoughts I’ve considered on the subject of wealth, “Do I understand what it means to be wealthy beyond what I see on television? Do I understand what is required to become wealthy?” I have since concluded that wealth is an expression of God’s favor and only God determines who will become wealthy, or rich. Consider this also; everyone who is wealthy is not a Christian and not all wealth is obtained by just means. I leave you with this final thought: Do I possess the same ambition to be like Christ as I desire to be wealthy, or successful?

May God bless you and help you to adopt the proper heart attitude, as you walk by faith, that will position you to encounter His favor to bless your actions that accompany faith in experiencing the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a comment